Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Ends TONIGHT = Back to the Roots Mushroom Garden giveaway {11.30; US}

mushroom gardenLast day to enter my Back to the Roots Mushroom Garden giveaway!

Giveaway ends tonight, November 30, and is open to US only. Easy Rafflecopter entry form.

This would make a unique, interactive, and ultimately delicious holiday present!

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

35% off the Baby Signing Time bundle!

These were Mikko's favorite DVDs for a long time, and I look forward to using them again with Alrik!

Holiday Specials!!

For a limited time only our customers can save 35% on our Best Selling, full-collection bundle. This offer is valid until December 5th. This is our lowest price yet. Don't miss out, Shop NOW!

For A Limited Time Only, Save 25% on EVERYTHING at BabySigningTime.com!


Monday, November 28, 2011

40% off at UmiShoes.com!

I love these adorable handmade shoes for babies and toddlers!

UMI Children's Shoes


Cyber Monday! Take 40% off Select Styles at Umi Shoes! Use code Cyber11.

Take 15% off any purchase at UmiShoes.com plus free shipping and returns! Use code Link15 at checkout!

Free Shipping on ANY order at UmiShoes.com!

Cyber Monday steals at BabyLegs!

BabyLegs make diaper changing, ECing, and potty learning a breeze while keeping the breezes off your kids' kneezes. I love them and have an appallingly large collection. Join me!


What: Cyber Monday Sale
Sale: BabyLegs is doing Cyber Packs again this year! We'll have SuperSoft (always a fave), newborn, classics, and more! 3-pair packs starting at $10!
When: Monday, November 28, 2011, at 12:01am EST
Where: www.BabyLegs.com
Become a fan: www.facebook.com/babylegs
Become a VIP: www.babylegs.com/VIP/ VIPs also get FREE shipping on Cyber Packs!

Free shipping at Highlights — today only!

These High Five and Highlights magazine and books are some of Mikko's absolute favorite things to work on! Highlights has levels of magazines and activity books tailored to preschoolers and elementary-age kids. These puzzle books and other fun activities would make an appreciated and educational holiday gift for any young child!

Free Shipping on Merchandise ALL day Cyber Monday until 11:59pm at Highlights! Only Valid 11.28

Get Hidden Pictures 2011- only $9.98 for each 4-Book Set plus S/H at Highlights.


Highlights for Children

Sunday, November 27, 2011

20-70% off at A Mother's Boutique!



A Mother's Boutique is having a Black Friday/Cyber Monday weekend sale! Items on this special page are 20-70% off.

Maternity and Nursing Tops, Dresses and PJs - just in time for the holidays! Discount applies to in-stock inventory only - so shop now while they last!

NO COUPON REQUIRED! Please check back daily as we will be adding additional deals all weekend long!

Check out some of the options:

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Buy 2, get 1 FREE, at GroVia this weekend!

GroVia


Buy 2, get 1 free, at GroVia!

Offer good November 25-28, and ends at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.

Items included in the sale:
  • GroVia AIO
  • GroVia AIO Newborn
  • GroVia Snap Shell
  • GroVia Hook/Loop Shell
  • GroVia BioDiaper Single or Family Pack

If you're interested in giving cloth diapers a try but aren't sure you can handle the wash load, GroVia has a hybrid system that might work well for you. GroVia's Hybrid Diapering system is flexible because you get to decide what you put inside your GroVia Shell: cloth or eco-friendly disposable. Simple, modern, and one giant step toward a smaller "footprint."

10-50% off cloth diapers at Kelly's Closet

Here are some Black Friday and weekend deals on cloth diapers!





Earn Triple Diaper Dollars (tm) Rewards points this weekend only for every dollar you spend in our cloth diaper store! The reward points add up to gift certificates that you can spend on cloth diapers, mama products, or other items for your baby.

A wonderful way to get free diapers is to set up a gift registry. Family and friends can then purchase exactly what you need (and want!) for cloth diapers.

Use coupon code SUMMERSEND at Kelly's Closet on any order placed this weekend (through Sunday night) and receive free standard shipping anywhere within the United States.

FREE shipping on orders over $49!

$10 off Highlights for Children toys and puzzle books!

These are some of Mikko's absolute favorite things to do! Highlights has levels of magazines and activity books tailored to preschoolers and elementary-age kids. These puzzle and hidden pictures books would make an appreciated and educational holiday gift for any young child!

Highlights for Children


Take $10 off $50 in Merchandise ALL weekend at Highlights starting Black Friday! Valid 11.25-11.27 11:59pm EST

Get Hidden Pictures 2011- only $9.98 for each 4-Book Set plus S/H at Highlights.


Highlights for Children

15% off at Melissa & Doug Toys

Happy Holiday Shopping! Our Gift to You…

Save 15% on Your Entire Purchase at MelissaAndDoug.com!

Use promo code NSAVE15 during checkout.

Expires midnight ET 11/29/11.


Melissa & Doug-Leading Designer of Education Toys

Friday, November 25, 2011

Black Friday 25% off sale at ERGObaby — today only!

I have no affiliation with ERGObaby (sadly, they ended the program), but I figured this was too good a deal not to pass on:

Enter this code at checkout: BF25
25% Off + Free Shipping

on all ERGObaby® Carriers and Accessories.

Offer Expires: 12am November 26


Black Friday deals for natural parents

Here are some of the best deals for the weekend from my affiliate sites that might be helpful. Shop in comfort for the things that matter to you!


Melissa & Doug Toys


Happy Holiday Shopping! Our Gift to You…Save 15% on Your Entire Purchase at MelissaAndDoug.com! Use promo code NSAVE15 during checkout. Expires midnight ET 11/29/11.


Melissa & Doug-Leading Designer of Education Toys





Kelly's Closet Cloth Diaper Store


Here are some Black Friday and weekend deals on cloth diapers!





Earn Triple Diaper Dollars (tm) Rewards points this weekend only for every dollar you spend in our cloth diaper store! The reward points add up to gift certificates that you can spend on cloth diapers, mama products, or other items for your baby.

A wonderful way to get free diapers is to set up a gift registry. Family and friends can then purchase exactly what you need (and want!) for cloth diapers.

Use coupon code SUMMERSEND at Kelly's Closet on any order placed this weekend (through Sunday night) and receive free standard shipping anywhere within the United States.

FREE shipping on orders over $49!



GroVia


GroVia


Buy 2, get 1 free, at GroVia! November 25-28, Eastern Time.

If you're interested in giving cloth diapers a try but aren't sure you can handle the wash load, GroVia has a hybrid system that might work well for you. GroVia's Hybrid Diapering system is flexible because you get to decide what you put inside your GroVia Shell: cloth or eco-friendly disposable. Simple, modern, and one giant step toward a smaller "footprint."



A Mother's Boutique Maternity and Nursing Wear




A Mother's Boutique is having a Black Friday/Cyber Monday weekend sale! Items on this special page are 20-70% off.

Maternity and Nursing Tops, Dresses and PJs - just in time for the holidays! Discount applies to in-stock inventory only - so shop now while they last!

NO COUPON REQUIRED! Please check back daily as we will be adding additional deals all weekend long!



UmiShoes.com


UMI Children's Shoes


Cyber Monday! Take 40% off Select Styles at Umi Shoes! Use code Cyber11.

Take 15% off any purchase at UmiShoes.com plus free shipping and returns! Use code Link15 at checkout!

Free Shipping on ANY order at UmiShoes.com!



Amy Adele Personalized Stationery


Kids Personalized Stationery at AmyAdele.com! Shop Today!


50% off EVERYTHING with code BigSale

Plus:
Over 150 Holiday designs are on sale at Amy Adele!

Enjoy 40% off select holiday designs on address labels, invitations, and stationery. Don't forget to order your personalized gift tags this year, too.

We even have Amy's Christmas photo cards and Hanukkah items on sale!




Robeez Shoes


Shop the Thanksgiving sale this weekend at Robeez.com. 30% off the entire site with code HOLIDAY30!

Expires 11/28






Tea Collection Clothing for Babies, Kids, & Women


Some of my favorite kids’ clothes are from Tea Collection! Tea Collection will be having a special Black Friday sale featuring $15 dresses for girls and $15 pants for boys valid 11/25 through 11/27.





Highlights for Children Magazines and Puzzle Books


These are some of Mikko's absolute favorite things to do! They have levels of magazines and activity books tailored to preschoolers and elementary-age kids.


Highlights for Children


Take $10 off $50 in Merchandise ALL weekend at Highlights starting Black Friday! Valid 11.25-11.27 11:59pm EST

Free Shipping on Merchandise ALL day Cyber Monday until 11:59pm at Highlights! Only Valid 11.28

Get Hidden Pictures 2011- only $9.98 for each 4-Book Set plus S/H at Highlights.


Highlights for Children




Baby Signing Time DVDs


These were Mikko's favorite DVDs for a long time, and I look forward to using them again with Alrik!

Holiday Specials!!

For a limited time only our customers can save 35% on our Best Selling, full-collection bundle. This offer is valid until December 5th. This is our lowest price yet. Don't miss out, Shop NOW!

For A Limited Time Only, Save 25% on EVERYTHING at BabySigningTime.com!







BabyLegs Leg Warmers



What: Cyber Monday Sale
Sale: BabyLegs is doing Cyber Packs again this year! We'll have SuperSoft (always a fave), newborn, classics, and more! 3-pair packs starting at $10!
When: Monday, November 28, 2011, at 12:01am EST
Where: www.BabyLegs.com
Advance Sale: Facebook Fans get the sale on Friday, November 25th, and BabyLegs VIP get it on November 24th!
Become a fan: www.facebook.com/babylegs
Become a VIP: www.babylegs.com/VIP/ VIPs also get FREE shipping on Cyber Packs!


Black Friday 20% off sale at Baby K'tan — today only!

I received this email and pass it along to you. I have no affiliation with Baby K'tan except that a different NPN reviewer once did a giveaway with them and liked the carrier a lot.












Black Friday Baby K'tan 
SALE!
Save 20% One Day Only



bk poster


Receive 20% off Baby K'tan and support your local small business! 
Simply print this coupon and present it at your local authorized Baby K'tan Retailer this
Black Friday, November 25, 2011 and receive 20% off your purchase of Baby K'tan Baby Carriers!

 

Not valid at Buy Buy Baby.
20% OFF BABY K'TAN! Black Friday Only. 
Print this coupon and present it at your local authorized Baby K'tan retailer to receive 20% off your purchase of Baby K'tan Baby Carriers. Offer valid November 25, 2011 only. Offer may not be combined with any other coupons or promotions. Offer not valid at Buy Buy Baby.

 

Retailer: To receive credit from Baby K'tan, submit your receipts from 11/25/11 discounted Baby K'tan items by February 1, 2012. A 20% discount per carrier (based on your column pricing) will be applied on your next order corresponding to the amount of coupons redeemed at your store. Submit receipts to sales@babyktan.com, or fax to 954.239.1038, or mail to Baby K'tan, 4700 SW 51st St, Suite 207, Davie FL 33314. Indicate promotion "BFBK20." Please contact us at 866.937.5826 or sales@babyktan.com with any questions.

 Support your local small business!


Find your local Baby K'tan Retailer
Click button to find your local Baby K'tan retailer





Wishing you happy holidays!
The Baby K'tan Team

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter







Black Friday sale at Tea Collection!



Ready to shop for super cute children's clothes for the holidays?

One of my favorite places to shop for kids’ clothes is Tea Collection!

Tea Collection will be having a special Black Friday sale featuring $15 dresses for girls and $15 pants for boys valid 11/25 through 11/27.

I've bought Tea Collection clothes for my boys, and they're adorable and high quality. The girls' offerings are even cuter, but isn't that always the way?

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Giveaway: Back to the Roots Mushroom Garden $20 ARV {11.30; US} CLOSED

This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama and Natural Parents Network. I'm also cross-posting it here on Hobo Mama Reviews. You may enter at one site only. Please find the section marked "Win it!" for the mandatory main entry and optional bonus entries.

Back to the Roots is offering our readers a giveaway of a Mushroom Farm, a value of $19.95.

This fun, sustainable, and educational grow-at-home mushroom kit lets you grow up to 1 1/2 pounds of gourmet, tasty oyster mushrooms in only 10 days…right from the box! The soil inside is 100% recycled coffee grounds, and the daily care is a simple misting.


 

From our reviewer, Sam for Hobo Mama:

I love mushrooms. Mushrooms as the centerpiece of a dish, mushrooms as an earthy base to a dish, mushrooms as a garnish: stuffed, sautéed, stir fried, raw, I love them all.

But I had never grown my own mushrooms before. It had never, frankly, occurred to me. But when we got the Back to the Roots mushroom kit, I was eager to dive in. The soil in the kit is made from recycled coffee grounds, and nearly the whole packaging is compostable afterward, so the kit is giving a second and third life to our raw materials, and the mushrooms are a freebie bonus in that process.

Our four-year-old son, Mikko, got to help in the process, although it's so simple I actually wished there was more there to hold his interest.



All you need to do is use a knife to cut a cross in the plastic, soak the bag in water overnight, and put the bag in its cardboard container in some sunlight. It was a two-minute project (or would have been if Mikko hadn't spilled quite of bit of the brownish water on the floor when getting out the bag).



From there on out, it was a simple matter of misting the bag with water twice a day, using the enclosed spray bottle, and letting the 'shrooms sprout. I was stunned by how quick the process was.

Here's the kit on day three (nothing to see yet):



Then on day six:



Day seven (seriously!):



Day nine:



On day eleven, it seemed like the exponential growth had stopped and the mushrooms looked about the size on the picture included with the instructions, so it was harvest time. (The instructions say to harvest on the tenth day, but I was greedily waiting to see if they'd get even bigger.)

Mikko did the honors. (Again, it was about two more minutes as a project.)



It yielded a solid plateful of mushrooms.



I sautéed the mushrooms and added them to a garbanzo-bean/couscous dish I'd made flavored with onion, ground pork, and a mushroom powder I mail-order. (The oyster mushrooms don't shrink as much as button or crimini; that's simply half of the batch as Lauren and I shared.)



Lauren's the green thumb in our family and I haven't even really found the work to be worth the reward in growing things myself, but this project couldn't have been simpler. Mikko seemed to enjoy watching the mushrooms get bigger each day although he couldn't bring himself to taste one.

The only hiccup I experienced was that you're supposed to be able to grow a second batch by cutting a cross on the other side of the bag, but I didn't get any growth the second time. I was unclear whether or not I needed to soak the bag again, and I did, so perhaps that was a mistake. (Actually, in visiting their website to remind myself of the instructions, I don't see anything there about soaking the bag at all, so maybe that's something they've worked to eliminate as part of the process.)

The mushroom kit is definitely something I'd do again once Mikko is a bit older and can anticipate eating them when they're finished. The more enjoyment you get out of the process, the better value it is, of course.

Replacement bags are half the price of the entire kit if you want to keep going, and the bags keep up to six months before opening, so you could likely get your cost down (especially if you get that second or third crop per bag) to where fresh mushrooms are a kitchen staple.


 


Back to the Roots

The founders of Back to the Roots were inspired by the idea of producing local, fresh food from what was an urban waste stream. The company is on pace in 2011 to collect, divert, and reuse 1 million pounds of coffee grounds this year from Peet's Coffee & Tea, and to help families grow over 250,000 pounds of fresh food at home. They've also sustained 10 urban school & community gardens by donating the premium soil amendment of spent coffee grounds and mushroom compost.



BUY IT!

You can purchase the Mushroom Farm online at BacktotheRoots.com. The kit costs $19.95. If you order 2 kits, you get free shipping.

Because the kits last six months or more in storage, a Mushroom Farm would make a perfect holiday gift!

Replacement bags are $9.99. A Monthly Mushroom Club subscription will net you 20% off over five months of mushroom kits shipped to your door.

You can also find the Mushroom Farm at Whole Foods stores.

If you post a picture of your grown kit on the Back to the Roots Facebook page, BTTR will donate a sustainability curriculum and kit to an elementary school of your choice!

Back to the Roots is also offering our readers a special discount!

Enter the code "Mushrooms4me10"
to take 10% off your first mushroom kit!

WIN IT!

For your own chance to win a Back to the Roots Mushroom Farm, enter by leaving a comment and using our new Rafflecopter system below.

Contest is open to United States addresses only.

MANDATORY ENTRY: Visit BacktotheRoots.com and tell us something you've learned! You must enter your name and email address in the Rafflecopter entry system for your entry to count, after leaving a comment on the blog post.

Leave a valid email address so we can contact you if you win. Email addresses in Rafflecopter are not made publicly visible. Please leave the same valid email address in your mandatory comment so we can verify entries. If on Blogger, you can enter it like this to foil spambots: mail {at} naturalparentsnetwork {dot} com

This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama and Natural Parents Network. You may enter at one site only, and we'll be recording IP addresses to ensure that there are no duplicate entries. That said, please do visit and enjoy both sites!

BONUS ENTRIES:
See the Rafflecopter entry system for bonus entries to increase your chance of winning after completing the mandatory entry. All bonus entries are entered directly into Rafflecopter. Just click "Click for instructions" for guidance and then "I did this" — any comments or extra information such as URLs can be entered into the "Extra Info" box. Give it a try or visit the Rafflecopter tutorial, and email or leave a comment if you have any questions!





Contest closes November 30 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.


 


Disclosure: Our reviewer received a sample product for review.
I try to seek out only products I think you would find
relevant and useful to your life as a natural parent.
If I don't like a product, I won't be recommending it to you.
See my full disclosure policy here.

__________________________________

newborn baby Alrik week 5 and brother mikko 4 years old with father on beachCrackerdog Sam (that's his hobo name) is a full-time work-from-home parent and a newly avid unschooler. He shares both the working and the parenting of four-year-old Mikko and five-month-old Alrik with Lauren of Hobo Mama.