Thursday, February 24, 2011

Tea Collection's new spring clothing for women and children

I love how Tea Collection creates clothing that's internationally inspired, wearable, and unique. It's hard to find all those traits in one line of children's, baby, and women's clothing!

Tea Collection has just launched a new spring clothing line inspired by artists and Catalonia. I think Picasso would approve. This vibrant and colorful collection has a distinctively urban, modern feel. The new Barcelona Beach collection for boys and girls has a breezy, coastal vibe with touches of art nouveau and vivid graphics.

Here are some highlights of the new spring collection:
  • The La Rambla Dress for women is stunning, fashionable and perfectly poised to transition from casual to smart.

  • The Jardin Ruffle Twirling Dress for girls is absolutely gorgeous and sells for only $29! Goes from size 6 months to 12 years, so perfect for most any age!

  • The Surfer Stripe Hoodie for boys has a laid back, Barcelona beach feel while remaining super stylish. Sells for $27 in sizes from 6 months to 12 years!


Check out the video below for a peek at all the cute:

Enter GE LED bulb & DivaCup giveaways!

A reminder that a couple giveaways end soon. Enter these by February 28 — Monday! If you're wanting to make some concrete changes for greening your life and going eco-friendly, these are a perfect way to start:


Monday, February 21, 2011

Hobo Mama Giveaway: SafetyTat Temporary ID Tattoos for child safety = 2 winners! {3.16; US/Can} CLOSED

This giveaway is now closed. View the winners here, and get a new coupon code! Thank you all for entering!

This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama Reviews and Natural Parents Network. You may enter at one site only. Please find the section marked "Win it!" for the mandatory main entry and optional bonus entries.
Have Kids Will Travel special giveaway event at Hobo Mama ReviewsHAVE KIDS, WILL TRAVEL special event: Through our most recent cross-country trips, I've been featuring a selection of special travel-related items for review that should make your next family vacation even more enjoyable! Today's review and giveaway is of an innovative safety-oriented product.

SafetyTat safety temporary tattoos product packs

SafetyTat temporary tattoos is offering TWO of my readers a giveaway of a sample pack of the SafetyTat Quick Stick Write-On! temporary tattoos (the packet to the left in the above picture).

SafetyTat contacted me to do a review, and I was intrigued by their product, and the benefits it would have when traveling or attending a busy place with your child. SafetyTat offers SafetyTat safety temporary tattoos on child's armtemporary tattoos with your phone number that can be easily applied to your children's arm or hand — that way, if your children get separated from you (heaven forfend), they don't have to remember or be able to say their phone number; it will be printed right there to be seen by a helpful adult.

I envision these being a safety measure for pre-verbal children, or children and others with special needs who might have difficulty recalling or conveying a phone number. You could also use one of the tattoos with a message about allergies or medical conditions. I'd love to have one of these SafetyTats on Mikko as we were going through an airport, sightseeing in a busy city, or visiting a theme park, children's museum, zoo, or similar crowded attraction. They would be an extra layer of protection before sending your child off on a field trip or camping excursion. It could even make things less stressful during a day of errands or shopping, particularly if you have a child who loves to run off.

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Hobo Mama Giveaway: Sacred Rose Organic Herbal Tea = 4 winners! $18 ARV {3.15; US/Can} CLOSED

This giveaway is now closed. Stay tuned for the winner announcement. Thank you all for entering!

This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama Reviews and Natural Parents Network. You may enter at one site only. Please find the section marked "Win it!" for the mandatory main entry and optional bonus entries.

Sacred Rose Tea boxes stackedSacred Rose sent me a selection of their hand-blended, organic herbal teas for review, and they're offering to give away a box of their exquisite Morning Blossom herbal tea to FOUR winners!

First of all, and appearances are important, these teas are gorgeous. Just look at them all boxed up in chocolate brown with satiny pink bows. Who wouldn't be excited to open a present like that?

Inside, the mixes are clearly top-notch, loose-leaf herbal teas, with identifiable and appetizing dried plants and leaves and a delicious natural fragrance.

Here's the website's description followed by my take (and my husband's) on the four varieties they sent me:
  • Mother Earth Zest:
    "a refreshing blend of ginger, spearmint, fennel and sage which assists in bringing a sense of fullness and grounding to our lives. This blend aids digestion and helps us root to the earth. Healing to the Root Chakra."
    This tea was very minty & refreshing. Sam said it was "zesty and morning-like," which was his joke because I said the name (the box wasn't in front of me) was something like Morning Zest (he's so helpful). Then he said it was "like Christmas, a sitting-in-front-of-the-fire tea." I think the Christmas connection must have something to do with the high mint content and the freshness of the ginger. I'm not usually a fan of ginger or mint teas, and yet I really did find this delicious! Go figure.
  • Dreamtime:
    "a soothing brew of passion flower, skullcap, chamomile and valerian that promotes a deep sense of peace after an overactive day providing a wonderful prelude to a peaceful night's rest. Opens the Sixth Chakra so one can dream their vision in life while soothing the physical body so one can easily move from insomnia into a well rested sleep."
    This tea was herby looking but very tasty to drink. I could see flower heads in the tea, so it's hardcore herbal! It smelled delicious, and brewing a cup would be a lovely routine to end the day.
  • Matri: Tea of the Mother:
    "a delicate blend of nettles, red raspberry, rose hips, alfalfa, dandelion, lemon and ginger that breathes women in birth in the most high and loving way. Matri was created to inspire mothers to be unified with the higher consciousness of the physical, emotional, mental, & spiritual body systems."
    This tea was the most herbal, a little grassy flavored (like you'd imagine herbs steeped in hot water to taste) but pleasant, and it left a green ring around the top of the cup and a lot of green "soot" in the bottom of the cup. What I liked was how specifically they chose the herbs that assist in preparing for childbirth and guiding through it. I'd heard of the benefits of some of these herbs, but I looked them all up individually to make sure there were no contraindications to using them in the second trimester of pregnancy. There were a lot of mixed messages — for instance, Childbirth Solutions and Herbal Gardens gave a go on everything, but American Pregnancy noted that some types of parts of nettles could be on the Likely Unsafe list for the Natural Medicines Database, and that dandelions have insufficient data available. Some of the confusion is due to the fact that not a lot of scientific research has been done into herbal medicine, and there are differences between eating an herb (and what part you eat), taking a high-dose tincture, and drinking a (diluted) cup of tea. I took this compromising route: I determined one cup of tea now wouldn't hurt me, and I'd save the rest of the box till my third trimester, where it will do the most good and since I'd hate to use it up before then, anyway. I don't want to advise anyone in a medical fashion who's pregnant, so check with your midwife or doctor about what's recommended for you. Just researching those herbs convinced me personally that these herbs have very specific and helpful benefits during pregnancy and birth. (And stay tuned for a future giveaway of the Matri tea!)
  • Morning Blossom:
    "an invigorating blend of peppermint, spearmint, rose, ginger and alfalfa that encourages motivation and joyful experiences. On the physical level Morning Blossom assists the respiratory system and metaphysically it opens the Heart Chakra to a reciprocal balance of giving and receiving self, romantic and planetary love."
    This is the kind you could win, and I'm so excited about that! I wasn't joking when I called it exquisite. I really love this tea! Remember how I said I wasn't normally a huge fan of mint and ginger teas? Maybe I'm lying, because this has two types of mint plus ginger, but I think it's absolutely delicious. It even has miniature rosebuds in it, which makes it adorably pretty and would make it a good gift tea. (Think ahead to Mother's Day, weddings, and baby showers, for instance!) I like a lot of teas, but I had three all-time favorites — and now I have four.

Sacred Rose Tea open box of Morning Blossom
Open box of loose-leaf tea, sealed for freshness


Sacred Rose Tea Morning Blossom in teacup cup
Morning Blossom in brew


Sacred Rose Tea closeup of Morning Blossom
Closeup of the blossoms in Morning Blossom


I have to admit, the descriptions of the teas kind of make me giggle (especially Beloved: The Twin Souls, because I'm immature). I'm crunchy, too, but I still get a kick out of reading some of the language on the site and in the literature they sent me. I don't always drink my tea so spiritually, but the good news is — if you do, the spiritual vibrations are there for you!

"Sacred Rose® Organic Herbal Teas are blended to hold specific patterns of light frequency. … Sacred Rose® Organic Herbal Tea is enthusiastic about raising the vibrational frequency of humanity one cup of tea at a time. … Sacred Rose® Organic Herbal Teas stimulate the energy body's innate ability to heal. Each Sacred Rose® blend facilitates an inner alchemy within the matrix of the body mind opening the gateway for a change in consciousness."

I just want to speak to anyone who might be uncomfortable with the vibrations language that the tea tastes good, too! And the herbs are effective whether you believe in them or not.

One downside is that this tea is pretty pricey if you're not used to organic and specialty blends: $18 for a box, plus shipping. It's definitely a tea for connoisseurs! I want to share Morning Blossom with my friends, so I'm planning to order some more boxes, anyway. I'm a big believer in the benefits of tea and effective herbs, and the quality of loose-leaf varieties. I like that this is an artisanal drink from a small company.

A big plus: Sacred Rose is committed to being eco-conscious and sustaining the planet, and the teas are all organic.


BUY IT!

Sacred Rose Tea three boxes

You can purchase Sacred Rose Organic Herbal Teas directly from the Sacred Rose website: SacredRose.us for customers in the USA, SacredRose.ca for customers in Canada, and SacredRose.eu for customers in Europe.

A three-ounce box (same size as pictured) costs $18. Shipping to U.S. addresses starts at $7.95 but becomes cheaper per item if multiple boxes are ordered.

You can also purchase Crystal Tea Infusers for $29 each.

WIN IT!

Sacred Rose Tea closed box

For your own chance to win ONE of FOUR boxes of Morning Blossom organic, hand-blended, loose-leaf herbal tea, enter in the comments below! Contest is open to U.S. & Canadian mailing addresses.

MAIN ENTRY: Visit SacredRose.us and tell me another tea that interests you!

Leave an email address in at least one of your comments if it's not clearly visible on your profile or linked web page so I can contact you if you win. (You can write it like this to foil spambots: mail {at} hobomama {dot} com or similar.)

This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama Reviews and Natural Parents Network, a site co-founded by Lauren of Hobo Mama & Dionna of Code Name: Mama and intending to bring together those interested in attachment parenting and a natural lifestyle. You may enter at one site only, and we'll be recording IP addresses to ensure that there are no duplicate entries. That said, please do check out and enjoy both sites!


BONUS ENTRIES, after completing the mandatory entry above, to increase your chance of winning (leave a separate comment for each so I can count them all):
  • Tell me something you learned at SacredRose.us.
  • Like Sacred Rose Organic Herbal Tea on Facebook (2 extra entries).
  • Like Hobo Mama on Facebook.
  • Like Natural Parents Network on Facebook.
  • Follow HoboMamaReviews.com publicly through Google Friend Connect, or subscribe to the Hobo Mama Reviews RSS feed in a reader or by email (1 entry for each).
  • Follow www.HoboMama.com through Google Friend Connect, or subscribe to the Hobo Mama RSS feed in a reader or by email (1 entry for each).
  • Subscribe to Natural Parents Network in a reader or by email.
  • Leave a relevant comment on a non-giveaway article at Natural Parents Network and tell us which post (comment on separate posts for up to 3 entries total).
  • Follow @Hobo_Mama on Twitter and leave your Twitter name in the comment.
  • Follow @NatParNet on Twitter and leave your Twitter name in the comment.
  • Tweet about this giveaway (up to 5 times total, at least 24 hours apart). You can tweet this text: Enter to #win Sacred Rose organic herbal tea in a @Hobo_Mama & @NatParNet #giveaway = 4 winners! http://t.co/sohZtgR {3.15, US/Can}
  • Follow Hobo Mama on Networked Blogs.
  • Post this giveaway on your Facebook page or wall and leave the link (1 entry). You can use this status update: Enter to win one of FOUR boxes of @Sacred Rose Organic Herbal Tea from @Hobo Mama. Contest ends March 15 and is open to US & Canada.
    Be sure to attach the contest URL to your update (this is not part of the update text): http://www.hobomamareviews.com/2011/02/giveaway-sacred-rose-organic-herbal-tea.html
  • Enter another of my current giveaways or the giveaways on Natural Parents Network (1 extra entry per giveaway — check back for more!).
  • Put my Hobo Mama button on your website or add http://www.HoboMama.com to your text blogroll for 2 extra entries each. The HTML code for the button is in the sidebar. Leave your site URL in the comment.
  • Put the Natural Parents Network badge on your website or add http://NaturalParentsNetwork.com to your text blogroll for 2 extra entries each. The HTML code for the badge is on the front page of NaturalParentsNetwork.com. Leave your site URL in the comment.

RULES:
  • Contest open to US & Canada.
  • Contestants may enter at either Hobo Mama Reviews or Natural Parents Network but not both. Entries will be combined for the drawing of four single winners.
  • Leave each entry as a separate comment so I can count them all.
  • For actions like following and subscribing, if you already follow or subscribe, just let me know in your comment.
  • For tasks that garner you multiple entries, you can copy and paste the comment with a #1, #2, etc.
  • You don't have to do any of the bonus entries, but you do have to complete the first mandatory one.
  • I will pick the four winners through Random.org after the contest closes and send an email notification. Leave an email address in your comment if it's not clearly visible on your profile or linked web page so I can contact you if you win. If I can't reach a winner or don't hear back within a couple days, I'll draw a new name.
  • Any questions, let me know: mail {at} HoboMama.com

Contest closes March 15 at 11:59 p.m. PST.

Disclosure: Sacred Rose sent me four boxes of tea to review.
I try to seek out only products I think you would find
relevant and useful to your life as a natural parent.
If I don't like a product, I won't be recommending it to you.
See my full disclosure policy here.

Friday, February 18, 2011

Signing Time DVDs deals and news!


I love Signing Time DVDs — and my son agrees! Baby sign language meant so much to us in the years and years (ok, year) where Mikko wasn't really talking but he could communicate with us through sign. It was like a window into his brain, and such a treat! We still practice our American Sign Language with him at three-and-a-half years old, and each Signing Time and Baby Signing Time DVD we have is still in rotation.

I have good news about Signing Time: After a hiatus when funding ran out, Signing Time videos are now playing on Nick, Jr. and public television stations again throughout the United States. Yea!

To celebrate, Signing Time is offering a couple great deals if you'd like to buy some DVDs, flashcards, or other ASL products for kids:

20% OFF LittleMissMatched spring anklets & knee highs!


Shop LittleMissMatched for a fun spring sale20% off anklets and knee highs in fabulous, mismatched spring hues!

Take 20% OFF Spring anklets & knee highs.
Use code BLOOM.
Ends Friday 2/18.

Hurry, this deal ends today at 10 p.m. EST!

Life's too short to match, don't you think?

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Rock it out at Roots! Vintage tees & a Winter Sale

Ok, I have to say — these are pretty cool.

Roots USA Vintage Classic Rock Tees


Get vintage rock t-shirts at Roots for 5 classic rock bands!

There's also a Winter Sale going on, with up to 50% off select items for a limited time only.

65% off Picaboo photo book!

Picaboo Promotional BannerIf you haven't shopped yet at Picaboo for one of their fabulous custom photo books, now's your chance!

You can save 65% off your first order of a Classic photo book for a limited time:

Save 65% on your first photo book!
Use code PICA65 for a 20-page Classic Book.
Offer expires 2/22/11.

Free shipping at UmiShoes.com on ANY order!

UMI Children's Shoes


Umi Shoes has eliminated the threshold for FREE SHIPPING. That's right — absolutely any order ships free!

There's also a current discount code for you to save 10% on any order:

Save 10% on your order at UmiShoes.com!
Use code umi10.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Giveaway: Energy savings in the home! GE Energy Smart LED bulb $50 {2.28; US}

This giveaway is now closed. Stay tuned for the winner announcements. Thank you all so much for entering!



This is sponsored content from BlogHer and GE.

The theme of GE's ecomagination Challenge is that improving our energy use starts in the home, and they want you to submit your breakthrough big ideas for home energy creation, management, and use. I have to admit, I've had a lot of ideas recently for how we can green our home in smaller ways — some I've put into use, and some I really want to. Here are my ideas, and I welcome yours in the comments! If you tell me your idea, you'll also be entered to win a $50 GE energy smart LED light bulb that lives 20 years and saves you $85 in energy costs. See more details at the end!

And if you want to enter the ecomagination Challenge, some thoughtful inventors, entrepreneurs, and businesses will garner investment, commercial relationships and other partnership opportunities, as well as five “Innovation Award” winners whose ideas represent pioneering entrepreneurship and innovation and will be granted $100,000. If that's you, submit your Big Ideas for how to reinvent energy use by March 15.

I have to say, I don't know that I have any Big Ideas, but here are some smaller ones. If you have smaller ones, go ahead and share them with me for the chance to win the sweet new lightbulb!

We moved to our current condo a little over a year ago. Fortunately, our 1980s building already has several advantages over our old 1920s rental: actual insulation (a marvel!), new vinyl windows that keep in the heat, and close neighbors, which can be a mixed blessing of course, but the good news is our being sandwiched between them means extra insulation for us!

However, 1980s styles and functions, while leaps ahead of the 1920s, are not up to twenty-teen standards (how are we describing this decade?). So we've already done some energy upgrading of our place, and hope to do more.

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Giveaway: Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion $18 at Natural Parents Network {3.3, US/Can}

skin-md-lotionSkin MD Natural is offering readers at Natural Parents Network a giveaway of a full-size bottle of Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion, an $18 value.

From Charlie, our reviewer:

I wish I could capture, in photos, the tight feeling of dry skin. Or even just capture the itchiness. And then I would capture the relief from both. This review would be over if I could do that.

[W]ithin a week, I felt less tightness and less itching. For those who know the uncomfortable tightness and the irritating itching, I don’t need any more words than that.

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Hobo Mama Giveaway: The DivaCup reusable menstrual cup $39.99 {2.28; US/Can}

This giveaway is now closed. Stay tuned for the winner announcement. Thank you all so much for entering!



This is a joint giveaway with Hobo Mama Reviews and Natural Parents Network. You may enter at one site only. Please find the section marked "Win it!" for the mandatory main entry and optional bonus entries.
Green Your Period. logo for Hobo Mama


GREEN YOUR PERIOD special event: We are featuring a series of reusable menstrual products for review and giveaway. Go green, no matter what time of the month!

DivaCup menstrual cup and bag lying down


DivaCup is offering my readers a giveaway of The DivaCup reusable menstrual cup in the winner's choice of size! The DivaCup is an innovative, eco-friendly solution to your period.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

I win & a giveaway: Smart Mom Teething Bling $20 at Natural Parents Network {2.3, US/Can}

There's a fabulous giveaway right now over at Natural Parents Network for a Smart Mom Teething Bling pendant necklace, courtesy of Stacy's Posh Baby Boutique.

The contest ends tomorrow, February 3 at 11:59 p.m. PST, so enter now!

You get to choose your own color and pattern of donut-shaped pendant.

While I'm on the subject, I had the opportunity to win a Smart Mom Teething Bling camo necklace last year from Shairbearg's Blog, now The Knit Wit By Shair, so I'll do a little review here!

Teething Bling by Smart Mom Jewelry is the original teething jewelry. I think it would also function wonderfully as a nursing necklace, to distract the twiddlers in your life!

The pendant is made of food-grade silicone (BPA- & phthalate-free) that's safe for babies to gum (though not bite through), and it's even dishwasher-safe! The pendant is strung on a black cord with a breakaway clasp. It hangs low so your baby can grasp it!